Through engagement with the various institutes representing the professions that work within the practice, we seek to share knowledge with other professionals to advance our own understanding and help define what constitutes good practice.  

This includes being actively engaged in the RIBA, the Landscape Institute and the RTPI, as well as our chair Ben Derbyshire’s current role as President of the RIBA. We are also active participants in other housing focused organisations including the Housing Forum, Design for Homes, and Design Offsite. 


The practice has a long association with RIBA, its founding partners appearing there to lecture as an emerging practice and its current chair, Ben Derbyshire, a prominent member of the Community Architecture Group in the 1980s.  More recently, Ben Derbyshire was elected to RIBA Council in 2014, successfully campaigned for the presidency in 2016, and served as RIBA President from September 2017 to August 2019.  Our managing partner, Simon Bayliss is a current member of the Housing Group and Riette Oosthuizen, planning partner, sits on the Planning Group.


HTA Design’s award winning planning team is an RTPI Learning Partner, having demonstrated best practice in the development and training of planners. Our Planning Partner Riette Oosthuizen is a member of the RTPI’s Planning Policy Group and the RIBA Planning Policy Group and is a regular contributor to thought leadership in the field of planning best practice.


The Landscape Institute

The Landscape Institute (LI) is the chartered body for the landscape profession. The LI’s aim, through the work of its members is to protect, conserve and enhance the natural and built environment for the public benefit.

HTA supports the objectives of the LI through regular engagement and significant volunteer time from senior practitioners. HTA Partner James Lord sat on the London branch committee 2010-2012, chaired the housing working group and published ‘Profitable Places - why housebuilders invest in landscape’ in 2014 and was elected to the LI board of trustees as honorary secretary from 2015-2019. James is also a long-standing judge for the LI awards. Senior Associate Oliver Rock has chaired one of the sub groups for the Governance Change Review in 2016 and has been invited to join the LI awards judging panel for 2019.

We use cookies to personalize content and to analyze our traffic. Please decide if you are willing to accept cookies from our website.